Is CBD Oil Legal in Virginia?

cbd oil virginia

The 2015 Virginia Senate Bill 955 legalized the plantation of industrial hemp by authorized growers as part of a higher education institution research program. Specifically, CBD oil containing at least 15% cannabidiol or THCA-A and THC content no more than 5% is legal statewide.  

 

The following passages shall put light on three popular marijuana strains, the legality of CBD in Virginia, and how to purchase it legally. 

 

LA Cake 

 

LA Cake by Los Angeles Kush blends the iconic genetics of GG4 and LA Kush to bred a relaxing strain ideal for winding down. Also, the strain inherits strong properties from both the parents and carries the vintage, earthy diesel taste of OG.  

 

Its fragrance is rich with pine and diesel notes accented by an earthy and sour aroma. This strain is a fantastic option for individuals aspiring to relieve pain or wishing an impactful euphoria, as LA Cake infuses the mind and body with tranquilizing relaxation. 

 

Bloodwalker 

 

Bloodwalker by Los Angeles Kush is an Indica-dominant hybrid created by crossing Cherry Pie and Mazar x Blueberry a.k.a. Skywalker. The strain offers a euphoric high that makes it a fantastic option for an evening at the lake.  

 

The flavor primarily accentuates the Cherry Pie genetics with a sweeten berry taste followed by gentle diesel undertones. Its scent is a blend of both worlds, radiating notes of diesel gas and sweet cherry. 

 

GMO Cookies 

 

GMO Cookies by Divine Genetics is a potent Indica-dominant combination of two famous strains: GSC and Chemdawg. Its Chemdawg ancestry offers a petrol-like aroma layered with fruit and coffee, while its GSC inheritance renders an earthy and sweet flavor. The strain is renowned for its capacity to relieve pain without a strong psychotropic haze.  

 

CBD Oil Laws in Virginia 

 

The 2015 Virginia SB-955 legalized the plantation of industrial hemp by authorized growers as part of a higher education institution research program. The Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services is overseeing the hemp research programs by higher education public institutions.  

 

Medical Marijuana in Virginia 

 

CBD oil containing at least 15% cannabidiol or THCA-A and THC content no more than 5% is legal in the Mother of States. Earlier in 2018, Virginia authorized the use of medicinal cannabis oil for any diagnosed condition, while establishing 5 pharmaceutical processors, for each of the state’s health regions.  

 

Moreover, doctors and patients are required to register with the Pharmacy Board before making any purchase. The licensed facilities are expected to become functional by late 2019 and turn $17.2 million in revenue by 2021. 

 

Recreational Marijuana in Virginia 

 

No, you cannot smoke a blunt in the Old Dominion, as the state classifies recreational marijuana as a Class I misdemeanor penalized by 30 days imprisonment and a $500 fine. A subsequent offense will put in the Joint for a year, alongside a $2,500 fine. Nonetheless, possession of less than a ½ oz of marijuana is considered simple possession for personal consumption.  

 

Where to buy CBD Oil in Virginia 

 

Virginia is making real progress in its stride to become a CBD-friendly state. Although, its CBD storefront numbers are still behind California, Florida, and New York, more retail shops are popping up every month. Your top brick and mortar options are: 

 

  • Vapors Lounge (North Chesterfield, VA) 
  • Dynamic Integrations Wellness & Massage (Tysons, VA) 
  • D.C., Vaperz (Centreville, VA) 

 

Alternatively, order your CBD products online if you do not have a retail store near you. 

 

Conclusion 

 

The 2015 Virginia Senate Bill 955 legalized the plantation of industrial hemp by authorized growers as part of a higher education institution research program. Specifically, CBD oil containing at least 15% cannabidiol or THCA-A and THC content no more than 5% is legal statewide.  

 

Doctors and patients are required to register with the Pharmacy Board before making any purchase. The licensed facilities are expected to become functional by late 2019 and turn $17.2 million in revenue by 2021. Lastly, do not smoke a blunt in the Old Dominion, as the state classifies recreational marijuana as a Class I misdemeanor penalized by 30 days imprisonment and a $500 fine.