There is no official hemp pilot program in Louisiana as of now. However, the medicinal marijuana program will be effective across the state from September 2018 onwards. The Sportsman’s Paradise is one of the worst places to illegally cultivate or distribute cannabis and carries severe penalties and jail time.
The following passages shall put light on hemp growing conditions, what are the two common CBD-rich strains, the legality of CBD in Louisiana, and how to purchase it legally.
Hemp is an environment-friendly crop and needs less water than the majority of the crops. In fact, it requires 14 times less water than cotton and also doesn’t leave any pesticides behind. It matures best in humus-rich soil with contained water flow. Hemp is ideally grown in lower altitudes, is quite indifferent to cold weather, and actually thrives in searing weather. Moreover, crops that are grown after hemp also benefit from it since hemp subdues weed growth while its root system aid soil loosening.
The Common CBD-Rich Strains
The Wife – A CBD-Rich Strain
The Wife is developed by Terrapin Care Station and is a strong CBD hybrid with a staggering 20:1 ratio of CBD to THC. The strain delivers conventional CBD-dominant elements including a fresh cherries flavor. It is known to render calming relaxation without a psychoactive haze. You can use The Wife to control many physical ailments such as chronic pain, nausea, migraines, and side effects of chemotherapy. However, it will occasionally give you dry eyes.
OG Tonic is a CBD-dominant hybrid strain and is famous for giving you an energetically euphoric mood. In fact, the strain bagged the 2015 Best CBD Concentrate award at High Times Cannabis Cup in Denver. Also, OG Tonic is proven to assist with fatigue, depression, nausea, insomnia, and headaches. It’s available in pungent, earthy, and woody flavors. Although, it will occasionally give you a dry mouth.
CBD Oil Laws in Louisiana
As of 2018, there is no official hemp pilot program in Louisiana despite 2014 Farm Bill (Section 7606), permitting states to legally cultivate hemp as part of educational research pilot programs. Nonetheless, it’s legal to purchase hemp-derived CBD oil across the state.
Medical Marijuana in Louisiana
Medicinal marijuana is expected to be available in Louisiana by September 2018 and will be regulated by the Department of Agriculture & Forestry and Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. The law shall allow treatment of the following conditions, subject to qualification:
- Crohn’s disease
- Intractable pain
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Intense muscle spasms
The regulation is expected to fetch $27 million in sales by the year 2021. However, only non-smokable form of the plant is permitted. As of mid-2018, there are only 11 licensed doctors in The Creole State to prescribe medical marijuana.
Recreational Marijuana in Louisiana
It’s still illegal to smoke a blunt in Louisiana, as marijuana is classified as a schedule I(C) psychotropic substance under the state law. Moreover, possessing up to 14 grams of cannabis can levy on you a $300 fine and/or 15 days of jail time. Additionally, it gets a lot worse for individuals distributing or cultivating marijuana, who are at the risk of a $50,000 fine and 5 to 30 years in prison.
Where to buy CBD Oil in Louisiana
Despite having no official pilot program in place, over-the-counter sale of CBD products is legal in Louisiana under the Federal Farm Bill 2014. Here are your best options in the Bayou State:
- Smoke-N-Style (Harahan, LA)
- Up In Smoke (Gretna, LA)
- Bayou Queen Vape (Houma, LA)
- Holy Smoke Vapor Lounge (Marksville, LA)
- Adolph’s (New Llano, LA)
Otherwise, there’s always the convenience of an online purchase if you do not have a CBD store near you.
The Sugar State is expected to have its medical marijuana program functioning by September 2018. It will be overseen by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry and Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. The consumption of recreational marijuana is banned and is considered a schedule I(C) psychotropic substance under the Louisiana law. Lastly, marijuana distribution or cultivation in The Pelican State can put you in jail for 5 to 30 years, apart from a $50,000 fine.